Skip to content

~::Do something fun::~

August 12, 2010

~::Julia::~

Four miles down a winding back road.

My butt became sore after the first mile.

My legs turned into Jello after the third.

My mind though…it was hushed.

And I have a feeling that the smile that it brought to my face…might just be permanent.

Fair trade, I’d say.

It’s been six years since I rode one last.

He surprised me with it.

I am in love.

**************************************************************************************************

~::Heather::~

I have been so cautious and careful these past few months, and now I want to relax and enjoy. There are so few days of warmth left, so few moments to savor outside before the seasons change.

The river and I have been dancing for some time. Was it safe to ride? Would I fall, would she toss me? My son up ahead with his cousin, and me behind with just the faintest scared smile on my face. Just a few hours to let go and be a kid, to let the river take me where ever she sees fit.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. August 12, 2010 11:45 am

    You ladies both look like you’re having such an enjoyable time. 🙂 I joined in yesterday on my blog: http://www.anartfamily.com/2010/08/on-being-joiner.html

  2. August 12, 2010 12:30 pm

    Yes! I have been so serious and structured as of late. I need to play in the worst way. We are going boating on Friday – I am getting out in the water for sure.

  3. August 12, 2010 1:11 pm

    I definitely need to up the fun in my life. I do have fun, but I need more. It’s hard to get out of the old ruts. But today we are trying some new simple things. This blog is so lovely and so needed. Thank you ladies for bringing it out into the world which is overfilled with fun-squashing things.
    Thanks for sharing! Peace, Angela

  4. August 12, 2010 2:46 pm

    wow – that is a big first ride! but you know what they say – it’s like riding a bike! ❤ and heather – we have this book from the thrift (http://www.amazon.com/Millies-Secret-Gyo-Fujikawa/dp/1559870060), and the 'secret' is that the dog is pregnant. she frolics in the river like nobody's business. it's honestly been inspiring me to let loose a little too. and look at you frolicking too! ❤ to you both!

  5. August 12, 2010 4:03 pm

    love!

  6. August 12, 2010 4:05 pm

    Ah that looks fine. Glad you got a chance to enjoy the river. Once in a while it’s nice to enjoy an invigorating bike ride even if we feel like jello later. Love this blog it makes me smile.

  7. August 12, 2010 11:04 pm

    Oh look at how much fun you two are having today. My fun starts tomorrow when all of the girlfriends are going to see Eat Pray Love and then out for dinner. I hope you both find some more moments of fun this weekend.

  8. August 13, 2010 5:45 pm

    Oh ladies, I really do love this space. The photos really bring the idea to life and serve as a beautiful reminder of the people we are in our hearts! Those things we long to do, or keep doing, or start doing again…after I read this entry last night, I crept downstairs while everyone was asleep, picked up my camera and grinning like a child, I snapped a few photos of my very brand new (bought yesterday morning!) very HAWT!!!!! skiis!!! yippee…now for me, those are toys, and only four more months until I get to PLAY in the snow!

  9. August 13, 2010 10:55 pm

    oh boy. Both these posts made me so happy to read!

  10. August 14, 2010 4:54 am

    Oh Gee, I am so excited for ‘we deserve this’.
    Julia and Heather, You Rock!
    We do deserve this.
    Best wishes, Camille

Leave a Reply

