Skip to content

~::09.02.10::~

September 2, 2010
by

~::Julia::~

Fall seems to be on the tip of Mother Nature’s tongue.

She can’t commit though.

And I really can’t blame her.

But, boy do I ever have Autumn on my mind.

Blankets, roaring wood stoves, jeans, puffy jackets, hot soup, clogs, hats.

It’s all that I can think about.

Thankfully, apples are available year round here.

They give me that little taste of Fall that I crave.

Apple & honey stuffed pastry

4 apples diced, skin and all

4 Tbs honey ( more for drizzling after)

4 puff pastry shells. cooked according to directions and cooled.

4 Tbs oats.

Simmer the honey and diced apples together in a pan until the apples are soft but still hold their form.

Press down the center of the top of the puff pastry shells. This will form a little well in the shell.

Pour the warm apple honey mixture into the well of the pastry shell.

Sprinkle the oats on top, drizzle with more honey.

Serve warm.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

~::Heather::~

The perfect datenight. A simple cookie, warm from the oven. A cup of tea for the mama, and a glass of wine for the daddy. A soft breeze, the sun just setting, and the knowledge that no matter how much chaos there is in the world, we will always have each other.

Polenta, Orange and Almond Cookies

1/2 cup polenta
2 Tbsp plus 1 1/2 tsp flour (I used rice flour)
1/4 cup almond meal
1/2 tsp baking powder (I used a gf brand)
1/3 cup honey
4 tbsp butter, cold and cut into cubes
1 egg beaten
zest of one orange
sliced (or flaked) almonds for the top

Preheat oven to 350 and line your baking sheet with parchment paper
Place all ingredients, through butter, into the bowl of a food processor and pulse into mixture resembles fine sand (you can do this is a mixing bowl as well)
Combine the egg yolk and orange rind until the mixture becomes a dough
Wrap in parchment paper or plastic wrap and refrigerate for 30 minutes
I make my cookies by rolling a small amount into a ball, and then flattening with my hand. For a prettier cookie, you can roll the dough out and cut with a cookie cutter.
Transfer your cookies to a cookie sheet and bake at 350 for 8-10 minutes, or until golden brown.

Enjoy!

“We deserve to feel that the food that goes into our bodies brings us joy and a sense of health and well being.”

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Unearthing This Life permalink
    September 2, 2010 4:21 am

    These both sound so amazingly delicious! I would have no problems feeding either recipe to my food conscious friends or my foodie friends. I believe even Hubby would sample them and he doesn’t eat sweets! Thanks for sharing something healthy and tasty!

  2. September 2, 2010 2:45 pm

    Greetings everyone! Boy do those recipes look great. It’s going on the weekend cooking list. Be Well!

  3. September 2, 2010 5:38 pm

    Both of those recipes sound divine!

  4. September 2, 2010 6:48 pm

    Oh that apple honey puff pastry sounds divine. The only food craving I ever had while pregnant was for apple turnovers (and sadly McDonald’s apple pies — I’ve no idea why). This is going on my to do list for the Fall.

    Thanks!

  5. September 3, 2010 11:41 pm

    Yum, can’t wait to make the polenta, orange and almond cookies. Thank you for sharing!

  6. September 3, 2010 11:57 pm

    The polenta, orange and almond cookies sound amazing and can’t wait to make it! But do you need a whole egg or just the yolk? It’s a little confusing.

  7. Julie permalink
    October 30, 2010 10:56 am

    I did the polenta cookies this morning. Did anyone try them? I put a whole egg, and I used spelt flour. Before adding the egg, I had a dough consistency – the recipe says fine sand, it was definitely not sandy at all. After adding the egg, I had a liquid paste instead of a dough. I had to add almost 1 cup of flour to end up with a dough. Also, I used medium-grind cornmeal and the grains were too crunchy, I will try with a finer grind next time. Still, the cookies tasted very good, I just have a bit of fine-tuning to do for the next batch. :0)

Leave a Reply

