Skip to content

~::09.14.10::

September 14, 2010

~::Julia::~

His first week of first grade.

The prospect of days filled with hours upon hours spent doing whatever my heart desired.

Is it wrong to say that I was a bit giddy?

Sewing, felting, baking, hand-stitching, and even dancing around my living room.

(And that was just before noon.)

I forgot how good it feels to just “be” myself.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

~::Heather::~

Our first week of first grade and preschool was spent almost entirely out of doors. In the mountains, by the lake, at the farm, in our yard.  Lunch time was always on a blanket under a bright blue sky. Fresh local food, soups, breads, veggies, and jams all made by their loving hands. Amazing how simple, quiet and perfect a school lunch can be.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. September 14, 2010 11:55 am

    Julia, I am right there with you! All three of my kiddos are at school all day. I love them, but man am I adoring this time to myself.

    Heather, your school lunches look amazing.

  2. September 14, 2010 12:10 pm

    I have two in school full time and when the baby takes 2 hour naps I am giddy! They are off school today and we are eating outside, enjoying the time, and I’m giddy for tomorrow’s naptime!

  3. September 14, 2010 4:06 pm

    boy, i am taking some time for myself to sew and some time with my loves to picnic. right on!

  4. September 14, 2010 8:36 pm

    Julia: Love the doilies! LOVE LOVE LOVE!

    Heather: That corn dish looks YUMMY!!!!

  5. September 17, 2010 10:38 am

    Heather: That lunch looks incredibly delicious. Do you have a menu? recipe?

    Julie: I can relate with the back to school me-time joy. I have three in school and one baby at home, so it’s not complete me time, but a nice change all the same.

    Be well ladies, Angela

Leave a Reply

