Skip to content

~::6.22.11::~

June 22, 2011

Getting back into writing in this space after a haitus.

Be patient with me, it’s been a while. 😉

**************************

The lovely Ginny of Small Things has come up with a weekly Yarn Along and I have been playing along.

Any excuse to knit and read, I tell ya.

On the needles: Another hat for my nephew and a pair of booties.

The sweet little boy will be here in the next 2 weeks or so and I am just keeping my fingers occupied with yarn and needles until I can tangle them around his squiggly little body.
My poor twin must be sick of my attempts to hold him while he is still in her womb.  The number of times I have caught myself tickling or squeezing her stomach in sheer impatience is alarming.
Patterns:
Hat

Booties

Reading: What Mothers Do Especially When It Looks Like Nothing.

I like this book.  I am newly into it, but it is proving to be eye opening and gives a clear essay of the importance of who we are and what it is that we are doing.

Sometimes being a full time working mom, I feel that I am so torn between what it is that I want to get done for others and for myself, my house…my life on my days off.  But this book is helping me to realize that even the little things that I do for my boy, for my home, for me all add up to a very important job.  A job that is on top of the one that I get paid for.

“the whole of civilization depends on the work of mothers.”

AMEN.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. June 22, 2011 7:33 am

    Stopping by from Yarn Along. I enjoyed visiting your site and getting a glimpse of your passion for the community of women.

    The hat and booties are darling–a nice welcome for your nephew.

    Blessings

  2. Alisa permalink
    June 22, 2011 8:17 am

    “the whole of civilization depends on the work of mothers.”…..love this quote!!! Found you through the knit along! Lovely hat and booties!

  3. June 22, 2011 9:15 am

    I love the yarn along it’s my favorite thing about being online on Wednesdays.
    I’m intrigued by this book it sounds good. I’m always wondering are mothers always doing something? It seems that even when it looks we are just sitting and knitting we’re still thinking.

  4. June 22, 2011 10:13 am

    Adorable knits! I started to read that book, but never finished it.

  5. June 22, 2011 12:19 pm

    Looks like a great book! Best wishes as you wait for your sister to finish cookin’ that babe!:)

  6. June 22, 2011 12:20 pm

    Amen, indeed! Hope all goes well for Laura & the birth. Your nephew is going to be one beautifully decked out baby!

  7. June 22, 2011 6:49 pm

    So glad to see you back! Laura’s little one is going to be the best-dressed baby in the world, I think…those booties and that little hat are darling.

    I am going to check that book out – it sounds phenomenal & like just the sort of thing I need right now. Hope you are well. xo

  8. June 22, 2011 7:43 pm

    I can not imagine having a sister let alone a twin one. it must feel like this baby is half yours! Such a cue hat.

Leave a Reply

